Tachyglossidae (Echidnas) | Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. 1-800-659-SKULL

Facebook Twitter YouTube
The World's Leading Supplier of Osteological Specimens
OPEN M-F 8-5 CST (Showroom Only - Sat 11-5, Sun 1-5)
capital right



There are four living echidna species in the family Tachyglossidae. One short-beaked and three Long beaked echidnas. Also called “spiny anteaters”, echidnas are native only to Australia and New Guinea. Echidnas, as well as the platypus, comprise the only eye-laying mammals or Monotremes.



ITEMS in the Family: Tachyglossidae

Short-nosed Echidna (Tachyglossus aculeatus)
Short-nosed Echidna Skull